| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Hagens
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:17 pm Post subject: I think I got tricked... |
|
|
Hey everyone, first off, thanks for all the guidance you all have given.
For the past couple of weeks i've been striking up a deal with this guy about getting some links from his site.
Now I really need some help, cause I think I'm getting screwed....
Take a look at his page.. fishing.fghp.com
Then, look at the source code.
See what i'm talking about?
Are every single one of those links on that page you see getting any PR? It almost looks like the main frame that gets PR is hidden.... unless i'm reading the code wrong. He has an H1 tag there, but I don't that text anywhere on the page, which makes me think that the hidden frame is getting the PR, while the other one is obviously left hanging out to dry.
Am I wrong? Please everyone... take a look. This could be a real good learning tool for all the newbies out there as well.
Thanks in advance...
Shawn |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hagens
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is weird.....
I viewed that page with IE, and it doesn't show anything about frames.
But Firefox tells me there's a frameset.
Now I'm really confused....
Suggestions? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
coop99
Joined: 30 Jul 2005 Posts: 198 Location: Seattle, WA
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hagens
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, now it gets funny....
If I start from his home page www.1fghp.com and follow the 'links' tab at the top... you get those really weird pages that have the frame problem.
But, if start at the home page, and click the links on the left hand side, you won't get the same URL's..., but they go to the same places.
The 'links' link will take you to the frameset problem I was talking about.
The 'Canada Fishing Guides' (on the left of homepage) takes you to a regular page. But after that, it's the same content.
Also, if you follow the link on the left, and view the source code, it looks like the meta tags say "no-cache"... and a bunch of other stuff I've never seen before.
Could you look at that too, tell me if there's something wrong there as well?
Thanks, |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hagens
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, this might sound kind of wierd.....
The guy claims that several months ago, his service went down, and changed domain companies.... or whatever. who cares.
Anyways, he just told me in an e'mail that the original site www.fghp.com was the one that got trashed, and now he has www.1fghp.com. And for some reason, his old site is just forwarding to the new one.
Well, I was just at his site and my menu bar read www.1fghp.com/index.html
And this had a page rank of 0.
However, if you type in only www.1fghp.com, it'll come up with PR4 (sometimes 5)
Maybe i'm just blowing this out of porportion..... but it just seems odd. Has anyone seen anything like that before? Is this that 'cloaking' thing that people have talked about? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JimatFGHP
Joined: 21 Apr 2006 Posts: 3 Location: Louisville
|
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:25 pm Post subject: Reply to Mr. Hagens |
|
|
I explained this to Mr. Hages, once but apparently he does not get it.
OK here we go again.
I use MyDomain.com to purchase my domains. When I purchased the domains MyDomain.com did not have the ability to HOST. They would hold domains or point them for FREE if you purchased from them.
Originally my site was hosted by an individual. It did not have a domain.
Time period was late 1999. I purchased FGHP.com from MYDomain and pointed it at the site.
Then the individual went out of business. NO notice.. the site was just gone.
A Business Acquaintance whom I was working with at the time allowed me to set up a new domain at www.1fghp.com and to go back into business within 48 hours, by pointing www.FGHP.com to the other site.
I STILL ADVERTISE the site in publications and on banners as www.FGHP.com but most of those are linked directly to www.1FGHP.com.
Apparently MYDomain's Forward does cause problems with FRAMING under certain circumstances... I do not understand.
IF you go directly to the site using the "Non Commercial" Domain name at www.1fghp.com there are no FRAMES. This is the domain address listed on Google, Yahoo, MSN and AOL.
All coding on my site is totally legal and above board. I dont use any tricks, and as I told Mr. Hagens if you go to the site from www.1fghp.com ALL of the pages have rank except a few that are new.
What I offered Mr. Hagens was to link to his Tackle Company for FREE.
I was having to redo all my counters since Fishclix.com appears to have gone out of business .. so in having to replace the counter on all pages I was going to give him links on over 200 pages of my site at that time. It was convenient. In return I was to get ONE LINK on his front page.
Not a great trade on my part but I give a LOT more than I get.
MR. Hagens...
I hope this explanation will end your maligning of me and my website.
I have been above board and honest with you at every turn. I MAY have said visitors when I meant page loads at one point, though I am VERY CAREFUL not to do that. I get around 5000 page loads a day from according to one new counter over 1500 people.. while the second counter says it is fewer page loads and more people and my internal counter that ONLY counts page loads says 4000 to 5000 page loads.
COUNTERS ARE NOT ACCURATE. At least none I have found. Example..
I am in the top 250,000 websites on Alexa and in the top 350,000 on Ranking.com (going from memory, actual ranking may be different)
I totally apologize for trying to give you so many links to your site, which would have generated traffic to your tackle store... even IF the things you are saying WERE true... Traffic equals MONEY to your business.
IF anyone has any questions concerning my website please feel free to call me. I will answer any and ALL calls concerning my site honestly.
I have now wasted another 20 minutes on you Mr. Hages not to mention the 10 hours it took to add and THEN remove your banners from my site. I hope this will end all discussion with or BY you.
Jim d**k
502-636-1305
Fishing Guides Home Page (www.FGHP.com)
also located at www.1fghp.com _________________ Jim d**k
502-636-1305
Last edited by JimatFGHP on Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JimatFGHP
Joined: 21 Apr 2006 Posts: 3 Location: Louisville
|
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| coop99 wrote: | I used IE and saw the frames!
Well, even if you weren't having second thoughts I would still advise against linking to or from his site to yours. The url is not currently indexed in Google, has NO back links of their own and does not have PR despite the recent update yesterday.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=www.fishing.fghp.com&btnG=Google+Search
Besides being written in frames, the other things do not help to pass link value or PR. |
Fishing.FGHP.com is set up through MyDomain.com as well. ALL FGHP.com portions of the site are set up this way.
Apparently the forwarding was set up on Stealth.. meaning that Mydomain did not pass on the REAL domain addres. I have fixed that problem, by removing the STEALTH forward on Fishing.FGHP.com
You are right there are no Back Links to Fishing.FGHP.com but the links were from the site located at www.1fghp.com and currently listed at #1 on Google for "Fishing Guides" despite having a lower PR than at least one other site below me. There are according to Ranking.com 12,000 or more back links to www.1fghp.com
Jim D i c k e n
(Darn thing wont show my last name)
502-636-1305 _________________ Jim d**k
502-636-1305 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|